Critics Choice Celebration of Cinema and Television Honoring Black, Latino, AAPI Awards-2023-Posted to Roger-Ebert

Century Plaza this past Monday evening, Dec. 4, 2023, in Los Angeles, California. The celebration is typically a lively and joyous occasion, and this year was especially so due to combining several celebrations. There were smiles aplenty on the Red Carpet as presenters and honorees talked with journalists about their projects and appreciation for the event.

Colman Domingo, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, Edward James Olmos, Lenny Kravitz, Eva Longoria, Jeffery Wright, America Ferrera, Charles D. King, Greta Lee, Allen Hughes, Ruth Carter, Kemp Powers, Makoto Shinkai, Damson Idris, Jessica Williams, Oscar Montoya, Sheryl Lee Ralph and Charles Melton and more attended this illustrious event. The cast of “The Color Purple,” which included Taraji P. Henson, Danielle Brooks, Fantasia Barrino, H.E.R., Halle Bailey, Phylicia Pearl Mpasi, Colman Domingo, and Corey Hawkins, received the Ensemble Award for their performances in the upcoming musical based on the Pulitzer Prize-winning book by Alice Walker.

It was hosted by Nicco Annan, an actor, dancer, and choreographer known for the hit show “P-Valley.” His comedic wit and energic personality kept the show flowing on an upbeat note. When I met him after the show, I complimented his enthusiasm and told him he should host next year. He smiled with a huge grin and thanked me profusely. Meeting so many stars on the Red Carpet and chatting with them during dinner and between viewings of the awards show was truly remarkable.

Ken Jeong speaks with Sarah Knight Adamson bout is role in “The Hangover” and “Crazy Rich Asians”

Continue reading on Roger Ebert . com, my report:

Sarah Knight Adamson © December 4, 2023